Press Releases

CUJ to set up Centre for Excellence in GEET

Ranchi, Aug 28: In a major recognition, the Central University of Jharkhand has emerged the youngest among 19 higher educational institutions assigned by the Government of India to set up Centre for Excellence (CoE) in Green and Efficiency Energy Technology (GEET).

Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD) has selected the CUJ to set-up the CoE on the basis of proposal and presentation evaluated by a team of national and international experts, Prof. S. K. Samdarshi, Centre for Energy Engineering who is the coordinator said.

“Our university is the youngest in the list of 19 prestigious institutions including 7 IITs, 3 IISERs, 2 National Laboratories and 7 others (NITs, and Universities) to get the CoE" he said. 

All new centres will be devoted to Training and Research in Frontier areas of Science and Technology (FAST).

The Centres have the mandate to focus on new and emerging technologies, multidisciplinary and translational research relevant to national development goals; (ii) to trigger an R&D culture in the institution as evidenced by significant increase in applications of research outputs, collaborative and sponsored research, publications in reputed national/international journals and conferences, patents, innovations, commercialized products and Masters and PhD enrolments and (iii) to bring together high quality researchers of the universities who are active in the complementary areas overlapping energy, water, clean environment and smart materials to develop and aid technologies which are in tune with sustainable development goals of the nation.

Besides,the CoE-GEET will work on following thematic areas like developing photoactive nanomaterials for solar energy conversion and environmental remediation technology, development of new Generation Photovoltaics, development of efficient technology for waste to energy and development of sensors for Energy and Environment Applications.

The research team comprises Prof. S. K. Samdarshi, Professor, Centre for Energy Engineering; Dr. Basudev Pradhan, Assistant Professor, Centre for Energy Engineering; Dr. Biblab Kumar Kuila, Asssitant Professor, Centre for Applied Chemistry; Dr.  Arnab Sankar Bhattacharyya, Assistant Professor, Centre for Nanotechnology and Dr. Sachin Kumar, Assistant Professor, Centre for Energy Engineering.

The supporting members are Dr. Arun Kumar Padhy, Associate Professor, Centre for Applied Chemistry; Dr. Avhijit Ghosh, Assistant Professor, Centre for Applied Physics.